Can’t see this email? View it online
Endowment Newsletter
January 2015
Vol. 2, No. 1
Endowment Supporters Enjoy Great Hockey Action in Philadelphia

Endowment donors enjoyed a terrific hockey matchup last night between rival Pennsylvania squads, the Pittsburgh Penguins and the Philadelphia Flyers. The Flyers won 3 – 2! Supporters were also treated to a luxury suite, generously donated by Gavin/Solmonese LLC, and the evening even included a chance to mingle with Flyers greats Dave Schultz (left) and Bernie Parent (right) in the photo to the right with ABI Director Frank Monaco. ABI also thanks Becket & Lee, LLP, Conway MacKenzie, Donlin Recano & Company, Inc., Epiq Systems, Inc., Morris James LLP, Polsinelli, and Summit Investment Management LLC for their generous sponsorship of this event.

Upcoming Events

Three special events will be taking place during the Annual Spring Meeting in Washington, D.C. (April 16-19). First, a silent auction will be held during the event. Items to be auctioned include sports tickets, electronics, and other special items. See below for information on how to donate items to the auction.

Next, there will also be an exclusive dinner during ASM to honor high-level donors at Joe’s Stone Crab in Washington, D.C. Save the date for Friday, April 17 and watch the ABI home page and Journal for forthcoming details.

ASM will conclude with a special Endowment reception that will feature a meet-and-greet with conference entertainment Lou Gramm, former lead singer of Foreigner, following the Final Night Gala. ABI thanks Becket & Lee LLP, Perkins Coie LLP and Rust Omni for sponsoring this reception.

May 4 Join us to support the ABI Endowment Fund and Steven M. Yoder Children’s Trust: Save the date and dust off your clubs! Plan to come out to support two charitable causes at Hartefeld National Golf Club in Avondale, Pa. Cocktails, a silent auction and dinner will be held following golf. Contact Sharisa Sloan (, 703-739-0800) if you are interested in becoming a sponsor.

New Donor Roll

ABI thanks these latest donors, whose names are among a special group dedicated to advancing research of interest to the bankruptcy community.

Lifetime Member
Contributions of $10,000 – $24,999

Samuel J. Gerdano
American Bankruptcy Institute

Contributions of $5,000 – $9,999

Damian S. Schaible
Davis Polk & Wardwell LLP

You can also contribute to the fund in other ways:

Silent Auction2015 American Bankruptcy Institute 33rd Annual Spring Meeting

Looking for a Unique Way to Give to the Endowment Fund?
Donate tax-deductible items for silent auctions through ABI’s Amazon Wish List!

Donating silent auction items is a great way to support the Endowment! Don’t know what to donate? Possible items have been selected and are available for purchase at under a special ABI Wish List. Pick out items now for the silent auction that will be held at the upcoming Annual Spring Meeting, and be sure to place your own bids at the conference.

Endowment Fund
Development Committee

Vice President—Development:
Edward T. Gavin
Gavin/Solmonese LLC

Committee Members:
Lisa Beckerman
Akin Gump Strauss Hauer & Feld LLP

Scott F. Gautier
Robins, Kaplan, Miller & Ciresi, LLP

Robert P. Reynolds
Reynolds, Reynolds & Little, LLC

Mitch Ryan
Donlin Recano & Company, Inc.

Regional Endowment Chairs

Chair: Christopher A. Ward – Polsinelli
Sam J. Alberts – Dentons
Neil B. Glassman – Bayard, P.A.
Thomas M. Horan – Womble Carlyle
Sandridge & Rice, LLP

Richard M. Meth – Fox Rothschild LLP

Co-Chair: Claire Ann Resop – Steinhilber,
Swanson & Resop

Co-Chair: Mark G. Stingley – Bryan Cave
Daniel A. DeMarco – Hahn Loeser & Parks LLP
Reginald W. Jackson – Vorys, Sater, Seymour
and Pease LLP

Richard S. Lauter – Freeborn & Peters LLP
James A. Lodoen – Lindquist & Vennum LLP
Scott Y. Stuart – GCG
Sheryl L. Toby – Dykema Gossett PLLC

New England
Chair: Michael A. Fagone – Bernstein Shur

New York Metro
Co-Chair: Lisa G, Beckerman – Akin Gump Strauss Hauer & Feld LLP
Co-Chair: Allen D. Wilen – EisnerAmper LLP

Rocky Mountain
Co-Chair: Annette W. Jarvis – Dorsey
& Whitney LLP

Lynne Long – Summit Investment
Management LLC

Chair: Robert P. Reynolds – Reynolds,
Reynolds & Duncan, LLC

Larry R. Ahern III – Brown & Ahern
Chip Bowles – Bingham Greenebaum Doll LLP

Richard P. Carmody – Adams and Reese LLC
Rudy J. Cerone – McGlinchey Stafford, PLLC
Mac D. Finlayson – Eller & Detrich, PC
Craig M. Geno – Craig M. Geno, PLLC
Stephen P. Wheelis – Wheelis & Rozanski, APLC
R. Scott Williams – Rumberger, Kirk & Caldwell, P.A.

Chair: Jerry Markowitz – Markowitz, Ringel, Trusty
& Hartog, P.A.

Terri L. Gardner – Nelson Mullins Riley
& Scarborough, LLP

Neil C. Gordon – Arnall Golden Gregory LLP
Jennifer McLemore – Christian & Barton, LLP
Jennifer M. Meryerowitz – Epiq Systems, Inc.
Edward J. Peterson, III – Stichter, Riedel, Blain &
Prosser, PA

Lynn Lewis Tavenner – Tavenner & Beran, PLC
Glenn Thompson –Hamilton Stephens Steele &
Martin, PLLC

Texas & Southwest
Co-Chair: Jason S. Brookner – Gray Reed
& McGraw, PC

Co-Chair: Scott Van Meter – Berkeley Research
Group, LLC

Thomas H. Grace – Vorys, Sater, Seymour
and Pease LLP

Jordan A. Kroop – Perkins Coie LLP
John Penn – Perkins Coie LLP
Thomas J. Salerno – Gordon Silver

Co-Chair:  Mitch Ryan – Donlin Recano
& Company, Inc.

Co-Chair: Martin R. Barash – Klee, Tuchin,
Bogdanoff & Stern LLP

Matthew Gates – Duff & Phelps, LLC
Scott Gautier – Robins, Kaplan, Miller & Ciresi, LLP

Donate Now   Contributors   Donate Unclaimed
Liquidation Funds
    Forward Email to a friend
© 2015 American Bankruptcy Institute, All Rights Reserved.
email facebook twitter linkedin vimeo