OCTOBER 2019 VOL. 6, NO. 10
From the ABI Anthony H.N. Schnelling Endowment Fund

Judge Carey Honored at the Mid-Atlantic Endowment Reception

The ABI Endowment Fund hosted the Mid-Atlantic Endowment Reception at the offices of Young Conaway Stargatt & Taylor, LLP in Wilmington, Del., on Oct. 16. The restructuring community came together to honor the service of retiring Bankruptcy Judge Kevin J. Carey. The special event kicked off the 2019 Delaware Views from the Bench program with cocktails and appetizers the night before the conference. Attendees were able to network with colleagues and catch up with the local insolvency community. All proceeds benefited the ABI Anthony H.N. Schnelling Endowment Fund. Thanks go to BakerHostetler; Barnes & Thornburg LLP; East West Bank; Epiq; Gavin/Solmonese LLC; Hogan Lovells; Omni Management Group; Polsinelli; Reed Smith LLP; Richards, Layton & Finger, PA; SSG Capital Advisors, LLC; Wilmington Trust; and Young Conaway Stargatt & Taylor, LLP for sponsoring this event.

Endowment Wine Dinner

Former Delaware Bankruptcy Judge Kevin J. Carey (above) addressed attendees at the Mid-Atlantic Endwoment Reception held in his honor. He retired in August after 19 years on the bench (5 years as a member of the U.S. Bankruptcy Court for the Eastern District of Pennsylvania and 14 years as a member of the Delaware Bankruptcy Court). Guests mingled (below) and shared stories of the beloved judge, who is also ABI’s Vice President-Membership.

Mid-Atlantic Endowment Reception

Hockey endowment Event in Tampa

On Jan. 14, Shumaker, Loop & Kendrick, LLP is offering their suite at Amalie Arena in Tampa, Fla., to raise funds for the ABI Endowment. Attendees will watch the Tampa Bay Lightning take on the Los Angeles Kings, so be sure to save the date for this event! The hockey game takes place the night before the 44th Annual Alexander L. Paskay Memorial Bankruptcy Seminar, also happening in Tampa. We sold out for this event last year, so be sure to add this date to your calendar!

More details are forthcoming, but please contact ABI Sales Manager Sharisa L. Sloan for more information on this event.


Tampa Bay Lightning vs. L.A. Kings


A silent auction was held at ABI’s Views from the Bench Conference in Wilmington, Del., with proceeds supporting the Endowment Fund. ABI thanks those who participated. Winners: Amy Brown (Geilert Scali Busenkell & Brown LLC); Christopher A. Ward (Polsinelli); and Lance Wickel (Donlin, Recano & Company, Inc.). Donors: Robert P. Reynolds (Reynolds, Reynolds & Little, LLC); Donald A. Workman (BakerHostetler); and Jeffrey Waxman (Morris James LLP).

If you’re attending an ABI conference, be sure to stop by the silent auction table and place your bids. For more information, visit abi.org/endowment.


Looking for a unique way to give to the Endowment? Donating silent auction items is a great way to support the ABI Endowment Fund! Don’t know what to donate? Possible items have been selected and are available for purchase at amazon.com under a special ABI Wish List. Pick out items now for silent auctions that will be held at upcoming conferences (find out more information at abi.org/events), and be sure to place your own bids at those conferences.

Participate in the 2019 Combined Federal Campaign

Contributions to the Anthony H.N. Schnelling Endowment Fund are tax-deductible. ABI is a 501(c)‌(3) tax-exempt organization. If you have been considering making a donation to the ABI Endowment Fund, you may benefit by making your contribution to Combined Federal Campaign #11391. Your funds will be used to support research and education on insolvency. Please consider contributing during the current campaign season (the 2019 CFC Open Season will run from Sept. 1 through Dec. 15). Please contact ABI Chief Financial Officer Kathy Sheehan at ksheehan@abi.org or (703) 739-0800 for more information.

New Donor Recognized

The Endowment Fund recognizes and thanks the following for reaching new levels of giving:

John Rao photo
John Rao
National Consumer Law Center

Levels of Support

Millennium Level
Contributions of $50,000 and above

30th Anniversary Circle
Contributions of $30,000 – $49,999

Century Council Member 
Contributions of $25,000 – $29,999

Contributions of $20,000 – $24,999

Contributions of $15,000 – $19,999

Lifetime Member
Contributions of $10,000 – $14,999

Contributions of $5,000 – $9,999

Sustaining Member
Contributions of $2,000 – $4,999

Leadership Club
Contributions of $1,000 – $1,999

Contributions of $100 – $999

Pledges at the Leadership Club level and up are payable over up to five years.

click to
donate now

Endowment Fund Development Committee

Vice President—Development:
Robert P. Reynolds
Reynolds, Reynolds & Little, LLC

Committee Members:
Steven M. Berman
Shumaker, Loop & Kendrick, LLP

Eric J. Fromme
Theodora Oringher, PC

Richard S. Lauter
Lewis Brisbois Bisgaard & Smith LLP

Jerry M. Markowitz
Markowitz, Ringel, Trusty + Hartog, P.A.

Bradley D. Sharp
Development Specialists, Inc.

Christopher A. Ward

Donald A. Workman

Endowment Fund

Regional Endowment Chairs


Chair: Christopher A. Ward – Polsinelli
Sam J. Alberts – Dentons
Ryan G. Foley – Shook, Hardy & Bacon LLP
Charles Forman – Forman Holt
Neil B. Glassman – Bayard, P.A.
Thomas M. Horan – Fox Rothschild LLP
Warren Martin – Porzio, Bromberg & Newman, PC
Richard M. Meth
James E. Van Horn – Barnes & Thornburg LLP

Chair: Richard S. Lauter – Lewis Brisbois Bisgaard & Smith LLP
Daniel A. DeMarco – Hahn Loeser & Parks LLP
James A. Lodoen – Lindquist & Vennum LLP
Claire Ann Richman – Steinhilber Swanson
Sheryl L. Toby – Dykema Gossett PLLC

New England
Chair: Jeffrey T. Varsalone – G2 Capital Advisors, LLC

New York Metro
Co-Chair: Lisa G. Beckerman – Akin Gump Strauss Hauer & Feld LLP
Co-Chair: Allen D. Wilen – EisnerAmper LLP

Rocky Mountain
Co-Chair: Annette W. Jarvis – Dorsey & Whitney LLP
Lynne Long – All Business Development Solutions, LLC

Chair: Kristina M. Johnson – Jones Walker LLP
Rudy J. Cerone – McGlinchey Stafford, PLLC
Craig M. Geno – Craig M. Geno, PLLC
James R. Irving – Bingham Greenebaum Doll LLP
Derek F. Meek – Burr & Forman LLP
James E. Smith – Williams Anderson PLC
Emily Campbell Taube – Burr & Forman LLP


Chair: Jerry Markowitz – Markowitz, Ringel, Trusty + Hartog, P.A.
Terri L. Gardner – Nelson Mullins Riley & Scarborough, LLP
Neil C. Gordon – Arnall Golden Gregory LLP
Jennifer McLemore – Williams Mullen
Jennifer M. Meyerowitz – Summit Investment Management LLC
Edward J. Peterson, III – Stichter, Riedel, Blain & Postler, PA
Lynn Lewis Tavenner – Tavenner & Beran, PLC
Glenn Thompson – Hamilton Stephens Steele & Martin, PLLC

Texas & Southwest
Co-Chair: Jason S. Brookner – Gray Reed & McGraw, PC
Co-Chair: Scott Van Meter – GlassRatner LLC
Jordan A. Kroop – Perkins Coie LLP
John Penn – Perkins Coie LLP
Thomas J. Salerno – Stinson LLP

Chair: Bradley D. Sharp – Development Specialists, Inc.
Matthew Gates – Duff & Phelps, LLC
Scott Gautier – Robins Kaplan
Mitch Ryan – Donlin, Recano & Company, Inc.

Facebook Twitter LinkedIn Flickr