MAY 2020 VOL. 7, NO. 5
From the ABI Anthony H.N. Schnelling Endowment Fund

What the ABI Endowment Pays For

One of the most important functions of the ABI Endowment is to provide grants for bankruptcy-related studies and projects. Former ABI President John Ames was asked recently to reflect on the work that he and other volunteers have done for ABI’s Veterans’ Affairs Task Force — an ABI Endowment Fund recipient.

ABI: What work is the Task Force doing/has the Task Force done that makes you most proud? Why?

John Ames: We're so proud of the Tiger Team for its valiant efforts to get the HAVEN Act passed in just 16 months, start to finish, and to all the other team members working on other projects, like getting the Pro Bono Clearinghouse up and running.

Veterans Saluting Flag

ABI: How does the Task Force affect the lives of U.S. veterans and their families?

JA: It's important to have someone looking out for the financial needs of those who have served our country so well, and the Task Force is dedicated to helping in every way possible.

ABI: Why is ABI's Veterans' Affairs Task Force important?

JA: The Task Force helps reduce the fear factor that veterans and servicemembers face when they're facing financial hardship.


New Online Silent Auction Needs Your Help!

The ABI Endowment is organizing an online Silent Auction — very similar to the ones that have been a mainstay at many ABI conferences — and we need your donations. Do you have something that you want to donate? If so, you can get in touch with Sharisa Sloan at to let us know. Perhaps you want to purchase an item on our wish list at Either method is a great way to support the ABI Endowment Fund. Look for the first virtual auction at ABI's Central States Virtual Bankruptcy Workshop on June 25 and 26; if purchasing an item from ABI's Amazon wish list, please make your purchase by June 10 to ensure in-time arrival. We will have more details in the next Developments email. As always, we thank you for your support of the ABI Endowment Fund!




New Donors Recognized

The Endowment Fund recognizes and thanks the following for reaching new levels of giving:

Lisa G. Beckerman photo
Lisa G. Beckerman
Akin Gump Strauss Hauer & Feld LLP

Victor Owens photo
Victor Owens
East West Bank

Hon. Hannah L. Blumenstiel photo
Hon. Hannah L. Blumenstiel
U.S. Bankruptcy Court (N.D. Cal.)
H. David Cox photo
H. David Cox
Cox Law Group

Levels of Support

Millennium Level
Contributions of $50,000 and above

30th Anniversary Circle
Contributions of $30,000 – $49,999

Century Council Member 
Contributions of $25,000 – $29,999

Contributions of $20,000 – $24,999

Contributions of $15,000 – $19,999

Lifetime Member
Contributions of $10,000 – $14,999

Contributions of $5,000 – $9,999

Sustaining Member
Contributions of $2,000 – $4,999

Leadership Club
Contributions of $1,000 – $1,999

Contributions of $100 – $999

Pledges at the Leadership Club
level and up are payable over
up to five years.

click to
donate now

Endowment Fund Development Committee

Vice President—Development:
Christopher A. Ward

Committee Members:
Steven M. Berman
Shumaker, Loop & Kendrick, LLP

Eric J. Fromme
Theodora Oringher, PC

Richard S. Lauter
Lewis Brisbois Bisgaard & Smith LLP

Jerry M. Markowitz
Markowitz, Ringel, Trusty + Hartog, P.A.

Bradley D. Sharp
Development Specialists, Inc.

Donald A. Workman

Endowment Fund

Regional Endowment Chairs


Chair: Donald A. Workman – BakerHostetler
Sam J. Alberts – Dentons
Ryan G. Foley – Shook, Hardy & Bacon LLP
Charles Forman – Forman Holt
Neil B. Glassman – Bayard, P.A.
Thomas M. Horan – Fox Rothschild LLP
Warren Martin – Porzio, Bromberg & Newman, PC
Richard M. Meth
James E. Van Horn – Barnes & Thornburg LLP

Chair: Richard S. Lauter – Lewis Brisbois Bisgaard & Smith LLP
Daniel A. DeMarco – Hahn Loeser & Parks LLP
James A. Lodoen – Lindquist & Vennum LLP
Claire Ann Richman – Steinhilber Swanson
Sheryl L. Toby – Dykema Gossett PLLC

New England
Chair: Jeffrey T. Varsalone – G2 Capital Advisors, LLC

New York Metro
Co-Chair: Lisa G. Beckerman – Akin Gump Strauss Hauer & Feld LLP
Co-Chair: Allen D. Wilen – EisnerAmper LLP

Rocky Mountain
Co-Chair: Annette W. Jarvis – Dorsey & Whitney LLP
Lynne Long – All Business Development Solutions, LLC

Chair: Kristina M. Johnson – Jones Walker LLP
Rudy J. Cerone – McGlinchey Stafford, PLLC
Craig M. Geno – Craig M. Geno, PLLC
James R. Irving – Dentons Bingham Greenebaum
Derek F. Meek – Burr & Forman LLP
James E. Smith – Williams Anderson PLC
Emily Campbell Taube – Burr & Forman LLP


Chair: Jerry Markowitz – Markowitz, Ringel, Trusty + Hartog, P.A.
Terri L. Gardner – Nelson Mullins Riley & Scarborough, LLP
Neil C. Gordon – Arnall Golden Gregory LLP
Jennifer McLemore – Williams Mullen
Jennifer M. Meyerowitz – Summit Investment Management LLC
Edward J. Peterson, III – Stichter, Riedel, Blain & Postler, PA
Lynn Lewis Tavenner – Tavenner & Beran, PLC
Glenn Thompson – Hamilton Stephens Steele & Martin, PLLC

Texas & Southwest
Co-Chair: Jason S. Brookner – Gray Reed & McGraw, PC
Co-Chair: Scott Van Meter – GlassRatner LLC
Jordan A. Kroop – Perkins Coie LLP
John Penn – Perkins Coie LLP
Thomas J. Salerno – Stinson LLP

Chair: Bradley D. Sharp – Development Specialists, Inc.
Matthew Gates – Duff & Phelps, LLC
Scott Gautier – Robins Kaplan
Mitch Ryan – Donlin, Recano & Company, Inc.

Facebook Twitter LinkedIn Flickr

© 2020 American Bankruptcy Institute
All Rights Reserved.
66 Canal Center Plaza, Suite 600
Alexandria, VA 22314

View Online   •   Manage Your Preferences