AUGUST 2020 VOL. 7, NO. 8
From the ABI Anthony H.N. Schnelling Endowment Fund

Funds Raised with Silent Auctions Held During Summer Virtual Conferences

ABI hosted silent auctions during three of its virtual summer conferences to raise funds for the Endowment. During the Southeast Virtual Bankruptcy Workshop in late July, the silent auction winners were Adam D. Farber (Law Offices of Adam Farber, PA; Boynton Beach, Fla.), Sean Markham (Markham Law Firm, LLC; Charleston, S.C.), Hon. Catherine Peek McEwen (U.S. Bankruptcy Court (M.D. Fla.); Tampa), Barry E. Mukamal (KapilaMukamal, LLP; Fort Lauderdale, Fla.), J. Leland Murphree (Maynard Cooper & Gale, PC; Birmingham, Ala.), Brandy M. Rapp (Whiteford Taylor Preston LLP; Roanoke, Va.) and John Rogers (Glasgow, Ky.).

During the Northeast Virtual Bankruptcy Conference and Consumer Forum in late July, the silent auction winners were Matthew K. Beatman (Zeisler & Zeisler, PC; Bridgeport, Conn.), Jason A. Burgess (The Law Offices of Jason A. Burgess, LLC; Atlantic Beach, Fla.), Bodie B. Colwell (Preti Flaherty; Portland, Maine) and Donald R. Lassman (Law Office of Donald R. Lassman; Needham, Mass.).

During the Mid-Atlantic Virtual Bankruptcy Workshop in early August, the silent auction winners were Howard Brod Brownstein (The Brownstein Corp.; Conshohocken, Pa.), Jason A. Burgess (The Law Offices of Jason A. Burgess, LLC; Atlantic Beach, Fla.), Courtney Carter (NYSL; New York), Edward T. Gavin, IV (Gavin/ Solmonese LLC; Wilmington, Del.) and Kyle A. Sturgeon (MERU; Atlanta).

Thanks go to the following auction donors: Shari A. Bedker (IWIRC), Melissa J. Davey (Office of Melissa J. Davey, Standing Chapter 13 Trustee; Atlanta), Melissa Davis (KapilaMukamal, LLP; Fort Lauderdale, Fla.), Ericka F. Johnson (Womble Bond Dickinson (US) LLP; Wilmington, Del.), Joe A. Joseph (Burr & Forman LLP; Birmingham, Ala.), Shelley A. Kinsella (Elliott Greenleaf; Wilmington, Del.), Patricia A. Redmond (Stearns, Weaver, Miller, Weissler, Alhadeff & Sitterson, PA; Miami) and Donald A. Workman (BakerHostetler; Washington, D.C.).

Silent Auctions

ABI Endowment Silent Auction at Insolvency 2020

The ABI Endowment will be hosting an online silent auction in conjunction with the Insolvency 2020 summit this fall. Bidding on the items is not limited to summit attendees; anyone is welcome to bid on them — just watch for announcements about the auctions so that you can get in on the fun!


ABI is also gladly accepting donated auction items. If you have something you would like to donate, please contact ABI Sales Manager Sharisa L. Sloan at Don’t know what to donate? Possible items have been selected and are available for purchase at under a special ABI Wish List. Contributing to the silent auctions, either through a donation or a generous bid, is a great way to support the ABI Endowment.

Amazon Wishlist

Levels of Support

Millennium Level
Contributions of $50,000 and above

30th Anniversary Circle
Contributions of $30,000 – $49,999

Century Council Member 
Contributions of $25,000 – $29,999

Contributions of $20,000 – $24,999

Contributions of $15,000 – $19,999

Lifetime Member
Contributions of $10,000 – $14,999

Contributions of $5,000 – $9,999

Sustaining Member
Contributions of $2,000 – $4,999

Leadership Club
Contributions of $1,000 – $1,999

Contributions of $100 – $999

Pledges at the Leadership Club
level and up are payable over
up to five years.

click to
donate now

Endowment Fund Development Committee

Vice President—Development:
Christopher A. Ward

Committee Members:
Steven M. Berman
Shumaker, Loop & Kendrick, LLP

Eric J. Fromme
Theodora Oringher, PC

Richard S. Lauter
Lewis Brisbois Bisgaard & Smith LLP

Jerry M. Markowitz
Markowitz, Ringel, Trusty + Hartog, P.A.

Bradley D. Sharp
Development Specialists, Inc.

Donald A. Workman

Endowment Fund

Regional Endowment Chairs


Chair: Donald A. Workman – BakerHostetler
Charles Forman – Forman Holt
Neil B. Glassman – Bayard, P.A.
Thomas M. Horan – Fox Rothschild LLP
Warren Martin – Porzio, Bromberg & Newman, PC
Richard M. Meth
James E. Van Horn – Barnes & Thornburg LLP

Chair: Richard S. Lauter – Lewis Brisbois Bisgaard & Smith LLP
Daniel A. DeMarco – Hahn Loeser & Parks LLP
James A. Lodoen – Lindquist & Vennum LLP
Claire Ann Richman – Steinhilber Swanson
Sheryl L. Toby – Dykema Gossett PLLC

New England
Chair: Jeffrey T. Varsalone – G2 Capital Advisors, LLC

New York Metro
Co-Chair: Lisa G. Beckerman – Akin Gump Strauss Hauer & Feld LLP
Co-Chair: Allen D. Wilen – EisnerAmper LLP

Rocky Mountain
Co-Chair: Annette W. Jarvis – Greenberg Traurig, LLP
Lynne Long – All Business Development Solutions, LLC

Chair: Kristina M. Johnson – Jones Walker LLP
Rudy J. Cerone – McGlinchey Stafford, PLLC
Craig M. Geno – Craig M. Geno, PLLC
James R. Irving – Dentons Bingham Greenebaum
Derek F. Meek – Burr & Forman LLP
James E. Smith – Williams Anderson PLC
Emily Campbell Taube – Burr & Forman LLP


Chair: Jerry Markowitz – Markowitz, Ringel, Trusty + Hartog, P.A.
Terri L. Gardner – Nelson Mullins Riley & Scarborough, LLP
Neil C. Gordon – Arnall Golden Gregory LLP
Jennifer McLemore – Williams Mullen
Jennifer M. Meyerowitz – Summit Investment Management LLC
Edward J. Peterson, III – Stichter, Riedel, Blain & Postler, PA
Lynn Lewis Tavenner – Tavenner & Beran, PLC
Glenn Thompson – Hamilton Stephens Steele & Martin, PLLC

Texas & Southwest
Co-Chair: Jason S. Brookner – Gray Reed & McGraw, PC
Co-Chair: Scott Van Meter – GlassRatner LLC
Jordan A. Kroop – Perkins Coie LLP
John Penn – Perkins Coie LLP
Thomas J. Salerno – Stinson LLP

Chair: Bradley D. Sharp – Development Specialists, Inc.
Matthew Gates – Duff & Phelps, LLC
Randye B. Soref – Polsinelli

Facebook Twitter LinkedIn Flickr

© 2020 American Bankruptcy Institute
All Rights Reserved.
66 Canal Center Plaza, Suite 600
Alexandria, VA 22314

View Online   •   Manage Your Preferences