JANUARY 2020 VOL. 7, NO. 1
From the ABI Anthony H.N. Schnelling Endowment Fund

A Night of Networking and Hockey in Tampa

On Jan. 14, Shumaker, Loop & Kendrick, LLP offered its suite at Amalie Arena in Tampa, Fla., to help raise funds for the ABI Endowment. Attendees watched the Tampa Bay Lightning beat the Los Angeles Kings 4-3 in a nail-biter shootout! The hockey game, which was also sponsored by Equity Partners HG, took place the night before the 44th Annual Alexander L. Paskay Memorial Bankruptcy Seminar, also held in Tampa.

Endowment Supporters

Endowment supporters enjoyed a private suite to watch the Tampa Bay Lightning take on the Los Angeles Kings in mid-January.

Private Suite

Thanks to all who participated: Steven M. Berman (Shumaker Loop & Kendrick, LLP), Jacob A. Brown (Akerman LLP), Gregory T. Donilon (Montgomery McCracken, Walker & Rhoads, LLP), Douglas M. Foley (McGuireWoods LLP), Kenneth W. Mann (Equity Partners Division of SC&H Capital), Hon. Catherine Peek McEwan (U.S. Bankruptcy Court), Francis A. Monaco, Jr. (Equity Partners Division of SC&H Capital), Marc J. Phillips (Montgomery, McCracken, Walker & Rhoads), Robert P. Reynolds (Reynolds, Reynolds & Little, LLC), Hon. Scott Stephens (13th Circuit Business Court), Frank P. Terzo (Nelson Mullins Riley & Scarborough, LLP), Adam Toelkes (KCC) and Steven R. Wirth (Akerman LLP).



In addition to research and scholarships, the ABI Endowment Fund supports law school and business school competitions. ABI’s 15th Annual Corporate Restructuring Competition was held on Nov. 9 in Chicago, and a team of students from The Wharton School at the University of Pennsylvania took top honors for the fourth consecutive year. This was the school’s seventh time overall earning the Bettina M. Whyte Trophy, which is presented each year to the winning team. The Anthony H.N. Schnelling Endowment Fund provided cash prizes of $6,000, $3,500 and $2,500 for the top three teams, respectively.

CRC Winners

The winning team of ABI’s Corporate Restructuring Competition, from The Wharton School at the University of Pennsylvania, are pictured with event organizers.


In March, the 28th Annual Duberstein Bankruptcy Moot Court Competition will feature 60 teams. The competition, funded by the Endowment Fund, is the nation’s only moot court competition devoted to bankruptcy law. One of the nation’s largest appellate competitions, it is named for distinguished St. John’s alumnus and former ABI Director Hon. Conrad B. Duberstein, who passed away in 2005 at the age of 90.

28th Annual Duberstein Bankruptcy Moot Court Gala and Awards

New Donors Recognized

The Endowment Fund recognizes and thanks the following for reaching new levels of giving:

Paul R. Hage photo
Paul R. Hage
Jaffe Raitt Heuer & Weiss

Matthew T. Faga photo
Matthew T. Faga
Markus Williams Young & Hunsicker LLP
Catherine Peek McEwen photo
Catherine Peek McEwen
U.S. Bankruptcy Court (M.D. Fla.)

Judges Honored; Check Presented to ABI

Retiring Delaware Bankruptcy Judges Kevin J. Carey and Kevin Gross were honored at an event coordinated by the Delaware State Bar on Jan 15th. Judge Carey designated the ABI Endowment as the recipient of a generous gift donated in his honor by the financial sponsors of the event.

Delaware Bar Event

Get Noticed at ABI’s Annual Spring Meeting!

Members who pledge or contribute at or above the Sustaining Member level ($2,000 and up) will be recognized during ABI’s Annual Spring Meeting this April in Washington, D.C. For more information on how to get involved with the ABI Endowment, visit abi.org/endowment or contact ABI Chief Financial Officer Kathy Sheehan.

ABI Annual Spring Meeting

Levels of Support

Millennium Level
Contributions of $50,000 and above

30th Anniversary Circle
Contributions of $30,000 – $49,999

Century Council Member 
Contributions of $25,000 – $29,999

Contributions of $20,000 – $24,999

Contributions of $15,000 – $19,999

Lifetime Member
Contributions of $10,000 – $14,999

Contributions of $5,000 – $9,999

Sustaining Member
Contributions of $2,000 – $4,999

Leadership Club
Contributions of $1,000 – $1,999

Contributions of $100 – $999

Pledges at the Leadership Club
level and up are payable over
up to five years.

click to
donate now

Endowment Fund Development Committee

Vice President—Development:
Robert P. Reynolds
Reynolds, Reynolds & Little, LLC

Committee Members:
Steven M. Berman
Shumaker, Loop & Kendrick, LLP

Eric J. Fromme
Theodora Oringher, PC

Richard S. Lauter
Lewis Brisbois Bisgaard & Smith LLP

Jerry M. Markowitz
Markowitz, Ringel, Trusty + Hartog, P.A.

Bradley D. Sharp
Development Specialists, Inc.

Christopher A. Ward

Donald A. Workman

Endowment Fund

Regional Endowment Chairs


Chair: Christopher A. Ward – Polsinelli
Sam J. Alberts – Dentons
Ryan G. Foley – Shook, Hardy & Bacon LLP
Charles Forman – Forman Holt
Neil B. Glassman – Bayard, P.A.
Thomas M. Horan – Fox Rothschild LLP
Warren Martin – Porzio, Bromberg & Newman, PC
Richard M. Meth
James E. Van Horn – Barnes & Thornburg LLP
Donald A. Workman – BakerHostetler

Chair: Richard S. Lauter – Lewis Brisbois Bisgaard & Smith LLP
Daniel A. DeMarco – Hahn Loeser & Parks LLP
James A. Lodoen – Lindquist & Vennum LLP
Claire Ann Richman – Steinhilber Swanson
Sheryl L. Toby – Dykema Gossett PLLC

New England
Chair: Jeffrey T. Varsalone – G2 Capital Advisors, LLC

New York Metro
Co-Chair: Lisa G. Beckerman – Akin Gump Strauss Hauer & Feld LLP
Co-Chair: Allen D. Wilen – EisnerAmper LLP

Rocky Mountain
Co-Chair: Annette W. Jarvis – Dorsey & Whitney LLP
Lynne Long – All Business Development Solutions, LLC

Chair: Kristina M. Johnson – Jones Walker LLP
Rudy J. Cerone – McGlinchey Stafford, PLLC
Craig M. Geno – Craig M. Geno, PLLC
James R. Irving – Bingham Greenebaum Doll LLP
Derek F. Meek – Burr & Forman LLP
James E. Smith – Williams Anderson PLC
Emily Campbell Taube – Burr & Forman LLP


Chair: Jerry Markowitz – Markowitz, Ringel, Trusty + Hartog, P.A.
Terri L. Gardner – Nelson Mullins Riley & Scarborough, LLP
Neil C. Gordon – Arnall Golden Gregory LLP
Jennifer McLemore – Williams Mullen
Jennifer M. Meyerowitz – Summit Investment Management LLC
Edward J. Peterson, III – Stichter, Riedel, Blain & Postler, PA
Lynn Lewis Tavenner – Tavenner & Beran, PLC
Glenn Thompson – Hamilton Stephens Steele & Martin, PLLC

Texas & Southwest
Co-Chair: Jason S. Brookner – Gray Reed & McGraw, PC
Co-Chair: Scott Van Meter – GlassRatner LLC
Jordan A. Kroop – Perkins Coie LLP
John Penn – Perkins Coie LLP
Thomas J. Salerno – Stinson LLP

Chair: Bradley D. Sharp – Development Specialists, Inc.
Matthew Gates – Duff & Phelps, LLC
Scott Gautier – Robins Kaplan
Mitch Ryan – Donlin, Recano & Company, Inc.

Facebook Twitter LinkedIn Flickr

© 2020 American Bankruptcy Institute
All Rights Reserved.
66 Canal Center Plaza, Suite 600,
Alexandria, VA 22314

View Online   •   Manage Your Preferences