AUGUST 2021 VOL. 8, NO. 7
From the ABI Anthony H.N. Schnelling Endowment Fund

Tequila-Tasting and Silent Auction at Southeast Bankruptcy Workshop a Success

ABI ventured back into the world of in-person meetings last month with the Southeast Bankruptcy Workshop at The Breakers in Palm Beach, Fla. The Endowment brought its A game to the Workshop with two successful fundraising events: a tequila-tasting and a silent auction. Thanks go to Steve Berman and Shumaker, Loop & Kendrick, LLP for sponsoring the tequila-tasting, which was the perfect way to wrap up Friday's activities. Thanks also go to everyone who participated in the silent auction, which, when combined with the tequila-tasting, raised more than $13,000 for the Endowment.


Tequila Tasting

Southeast Silent Auction Donors: The Breakers Palm Beach, Christie Brimm (Barton Brimm, PA), Denise Dell-Powell (Dean Mead), Kelly Desgrosseilliers (Epiq), J. David Folds (Baker, Donelson, Bearman, Caldwell & Berkowitz, PC), IWIRC, Kristina Johnson (Jones Walker LLP), Soneet Kapila (KapilaMukamal LLP), Stephanie Lieb (Trenam Law), Jerry Markowitz (Markowitz, Ringel, Trusty + Hartog, P.A.), Jennifer McLemore (Williams Mullen), Louis E. Robichaux IV (Ankura Consulting Group, LLC), Ashley Rusher (Blanco Tackabery & Matamoros, PA), Chris Ward (Polsinelli) and Donald Workman (BakerHostetler).

Southeast Silent Auction Winners: Jeb Bailey (Butler Snow LLP),Christie Brimm (Barton Brimm, PA), Paul Deutch (Omni Agent Solutions), Ted Donovan (Goldberg Weprin Finkel Goldstein LLP), Matt Dundon (Dundon Advisors LLC), Jeffery Hartley (Helmsing, Leach, Herlong, Newman & Rouse, P.C.), John Hutton (Greenberg Traurig, LLP), Jacob Isenberg (U.S. Bankruptcy Court, Southern District of Florida), Soneet Kapila (KapilaMukamal LLP), Shelley Kinsella (Armstrong Teasdale LLP), Jerry Markowitz (Markowitz, Ringel, Trusty + Hartog, P.A.), Thomas Norton (Stone & Baxter, LLP), Ed Peterson (Stichter, Reidel, Blain & Postler, PA), Rebecca Redwine (Hendren, Redwine & Malone, PLLC), Louis E. Robichaux IV (Ankura Consulting Group, LLC), Ashley Rusher (Blanco Tackabery & Matamoros, PA), Hank Shelton (Adams and Reece LLP), Ellsworth Summers (Burr & Forman, LLP), Judy Thompson (JD Thompson Law), Nicolette Vilmos (Nelson Mullins Riley & Scarborough, LLP), Chris Ward (Polsinelli) and Nancy Whaley (Standing Chapter 13 Trustee).

The Breakers Palm Beach

New Donors Recognized

The Endowment Fund recognizes and thanks the following for reaching new levels of giving:

Kevin J. Carey photo
Kevin J. Carey
Hogan Lovells US LLP

Kristina M. Johnson photo
Kristina M. Johnson
Jones Walker LLP



If you have something you would like to donate, please contact ABI Sales Manager Sharisa L. Sloan at Don’t know what to donate? Possible items have been selected and are available for purchase at under a special ABI Wish List. Contributing to the silent auctions, either through a donation or a generous bid, is a great way to support the ABI Endowment. Here is the link to the Southwest auction, which will begin on Monday, August 23.


Want to help make a difference while you shop in the Amazon app, at no extra cost to you? Simply select "American Bankruptcy Institute" as your charity and activate AmazonSmile in the app. They'll donate a portion of your eligible mobile app purchases to us.

Levels of Support

Millennium Level
Contributions of $50,000 and above

30th Anniversary Circle
Contributions of $30,000 – $49,999

Century Council Member 
Contributions of $25,000 – $29,999

Contributions of $20,000 – $24,999

Contributions of $15,000 – $19,999

Lifetime Member
Contributions of $10,000 – $14,999

Contributions of $5,000 – $9,999

Sustaining Member
Contributions of $2,000 – $4,999

Leadership Club
Contributions of $1,000 – $1,999

Contributions of $100 – $999

Pledges at the Leadership Club level and up are payable over up to five years.

Click to Donate Now

Endowment Fund Development Committee

Vice President—Development:
Christopher A. Ward

Committee Members:
Steven M. Berman
Shumaker, Loop & Kendrick, LLP

Dawn M. Cica
Carlyon Cica Chtd.

Eric J. Fromme
Theodora Oringher, PC

Bradley D. Sharp
Development Specialists, Inc.

Donald A. Workman

Endowment Fund

Regional Endowment Chairs


Chair: Donald A. Workman – BakerHostetler
Charles Forman – Forman Holt
Neil B. Glassman – Bayard, P.A.
Thomas M. Horan – Cozen O’Connor
Warren Martin – Porzio, Bromberg & Newman, PC
Richard M. Meth
James E. Van Horn – Barnes & Thornburg LLP

Chair: Lisa Vandesteeg – Levenfeld Pearlstein & Smith LLC
Daniel A. DeMarco – Hahn Loeser & Parks LLP
Richard S. Lauter – Lewis Brisbois Bisgaard & Smith LLP
James A. Lodoen – Lindquist & Vennum LLP
Claire Ann Richman – Steinhilber Swanson LLP
Sheryl L. Toby – Dykema Gossett PLLC

New England
Chair: Jeffrey T. Varsalone – G2 Capital Advisors, LLC

New York Metro
Chair: Elyssa S. Kates – BakerHostetler

Rocky Mountain
Co-Chair: Annette W. Jarvis – Greenberg Traurig, LLP
Co-Chair: Lynne Long – Conway MacKenzie

Chair: Kristina M. Johnson – Jones Walker LLP
Rudy J. Cerone – McGlinchey Stafford, PLLC
Craig M. Geno – Craig M. Geno, PLLC
James R. Irving – Dentons Bingham Greenebaum
Derek F. Meek – Burr & Forman LLP
James E. Smith – Barber Law Firm
Emily Campbell Taube – Burr & Forman LLP


Chair: Jerry Markowitz – Markowitz, Ringel, Trusty + Hartog, P.A.
Terri L. Gardner – Nelson Mullins Riley & Scarborough, LLP
Neil C. Gordon – Arnall Golden Gregory LLP
Jennifer McLemore – Williams Mullen
Jennifer M. Meyerowitz – Stretto
Edward J. Peterson, III – Stichter, Riedel, Blain & Postler, PA
Lynn Lewis Tavenner – Tavenner & Beran, PLC
Glenn Thompson – Hamilton Stephens Steele & Martin, PLLC

Texas & Southwest
Co-Chair: Jason S. Brookner – Gray Reed & McGraw, PC
Co-Chair: Scott Van Meter – GlassRatner LLC
Jordan A. Kroop – Perkins Coie LLP
John Penn – Perkins Coie LLP
Thomas J. Salerno – Stinson LLP

Chair: Bradley D. Sharp – Development Specialists, Inc.
K. Kevin Otus – Onyx Asset Advisors, LLC
Randye B. Soref – Polsinelli

Facebook Twitter LinkedIn Flickr

© 2021 American Bankruptcy Institute
All Rights Reserved.
66 Canal Center Plaza, Suite 600
Alexandria, VA 22314

View Online   •   Manage Your Preferences