JULY 2021 VOL. 8, NO. 6
From the ABI Anthony H.N. Schnelling Endowment Fund

In-Person EVENTS Return With Tequila-Tasting at The Southeast Bankruptcy Workshop

The ABI Endowment will be hosting its first in-person fundraiser in more than a year: a tequila-tasting for registrants of the Southeast Bankruptcy Workshop. This special event for workshop attendees, which will include margaritas and sangrias, will take place from 8:30-10:00 p.m. July 30 at The Breakers Palm Beach. Tickets are $150 per person, and proceeds benefit the Endowment. Those currently registered for the Southeast Bankruptcy Workshop can add this event as an optional event on their online registration. Thanks go to Shumaker, Loop & Kendrick, LLP for sponsoring this event.


Tequila Tasting

The Breakers Palm Beach

New Donors Recognized

The Endowment Fund recognizes and thanks the following for reaching new levels of giving:

Kenneth W. Mann photo
Kenneth W. Mann
SC&H Capital

Rebecca Finch Redwine photo
Rebecca Finch Redwine
Hendren, Redwine & Malone, PLLC

Geoffrey J. Peters photo
Geoffrey J. Peters
Weltman, Weinberg & Reis Co., LPA


ABI is gladly accepting donated items for silent auctions scheduled for the Southeast Bankruptcy Workshop and the Southwest Bankruptcy Conference. If you have something you would like to donate, please contact ABI Sales Manager Sharisa L. Sloan at ssloan@abi.org. Don’t know what to donate? Possible items have been selected and are available for purchase at amazon.com under a special ABI Wish List. Contributing to the silent auctions, either through a donation or a generous bid, is a great way to support the ABI Endowment. Here is the link to the Southeast auction, which begins July 29.


The ABI Endowment is putting together some exciting plans to host a wine-tasting in the Sonoma/Napa area of California’s wine country sometime this fall. Details are forthcoming, but look for details in future editions of ABI's monthly Developments e-newsletter, and check abi.org/events for more information. If you would like to get involved as a sponsor of this event, please contact ABI Sales Manager Sharisa Sloan.

Levels of Support

Millennium Level
Contributions of $50,000 and above

30th Anniversary Circle
Contributions of $30,000 – $49,999

Century Council Member 
Contributions of $25,000 – $29,999

Contributions of $20,000 – $24,999

Contributions of $15,000 – $19,999

Lifetime Member
Contributions of $10,000 – $14,999

Contributions of $5,000 – $9,999

Sustaining Member
Contributions of $2,000 – $4,999

Leadership Club
Contributions of $1,000 – $1,999

Contributions of $100 – $999

Pledges at the Leadership Club level and up are payable over up to five years.

Click to Donate Now

Endowment Fund Development Committee

Vice President—Development:
Christopher A. Ward

Committee Members:
Steven M. Berman
Shumaker, Loop & Kendrick, LLP

Dawn M. Cica
Carlyon Cica Chtd.

Eric J. Fromme
Theodora Oringher, PC

Bradley D. Sharp
Development Specialists, Inc.

Donald A. Workman

Endowment Fund

Regional Endowment Chairs


Chair: Donald A. Workman – BakerHostetler
Charles Forman – Forman Holt
Neil B. Glassman – Bayard, P.A.
Thomas M. Horan – Cozen O’Connor
Warren Martin – Porzio, Bromberg & Newman, PC
Richard M. Meth
James E. Van Horn – Barnes & Thornburg LLP

Chair: Lisa Vandesteeg – Levenfeld Pearlstein & Smith LLC
Daniel A. DeMarco – Hahn Loeser & Parks LLP
Richard S. Lauter – Lewis Brisbois Bisgaard & Smith LLP
James A. Lodoen – Lindquist & Vennum LLP
Claire Ann Richman – Steinhilber Swanson LLP
Sheryl L. Toby – Dykema Gossett PLLC

New England
Chair: Jeffrey T. Varsalone – G2 Capital Advisors, LLC

New York Metro
Chair: Elyssa S. Kates – BakerHostetler

Rocky Mountain
Co-Chair: Annette W. Jarvis – Greenberg Traurig, LLP
Co-Chair: Lynne Long – Conway MacKenzie

Chair: Kristina M. Johnson – Jones Walker LLP
Rudy J. Cerone – McGlinchey Stafford, PLLC
Craig M. Geno – Craig M. Geno, PLLC
James R. Irving – Dentons Bingham Greenebaum
Derek F. Meek – Burr & Forman LLP
James E. Smith – Barber Law Firm
Emily Campbell Taube – Burr & Forman LLP


Chair: Jerry Markowitz – Markowitz, Ringel, Trusty + Hartog, P.A.
Terri L. Gardner – Nelson Mullins Riley & Scarborough, LLP
Neil C. Gordon – Arnall Golden Gregory LLP
Jennifer McLemore – Williams Mullen
Jennifer M. Meyerowitz – Stretto
Edward J. Peterson, III – Stichter, Riedel, Blain & Postler, PA
Lynn Lewis Tavenner – Tavenner & Beran, PLC
Glenn Thompson – Hamilton Stephens Steele & Martin, PLLC

Texas & Southwest
Co-Chair: Jason S. Brookner – Gray Reed & McGraw, PC
Co-Chair: Scott Van Meter – GlassRatner LLC
Jordan A. Kroop – Perkins Coie LLP
John Penn – Perkins Coie LLP
Thomas J. Salerno – Stinson LLP

Chair: Bradley D. Sharp – Development Specialists, Inc.
K. Kevin Otus – Onyx Asset Advisors, LLC
Randye B. Soref – Polsinelli

Facebook Twitter LinkedIn Flickr

© 2021 American Bankruptcy Institute
All Rights Reserved.
66 Canal Center Plaza, Suite 600
Alexandria, VA 22314

View Online   •   Manage Your Preferences