NOVEMBER 2021 VOL. 8, NO. 9
From the ABI Anthony H.N. Schnelling Endowment Fund

Donate to the Endowment this Giving Tuesday

As ABI’s VP-Development, I choose to lead by example, so in honor of this year’s Giving Tuesday (Nov. 30), I have made a $5,000 donation to the ABI Endowment. I know that you are being approached by many of your trust organizations to help on this Giving Tuesday, and I ask that you consider donating to the ABI Endowment as part of your philanthropy. As you know, the Endowment helps fund projects that are near and dear to restructuring professionals’ hearts. We need your help to ensure that the Endowment can continue funding these worthwhile projects. Please join me in donating to the ABI Endowment.

Donate With Me

Christopher Ward

Christopher A. Ward
Vice President—Development

President's Column


Don't Miss the "BAJA BASH" Happening AT WLC

The ABI Endowment will be hosting a Baja Bash: Sipping Under the Stars fundraising event on Dec. 10 from 9:30-11:00 p.m. PT at the Terranea Resort in conjunction with ABI’s Winter Leadership Conference. The event, sponsored by BakerHostetler, Blank Rome LLP, Donlin Recano, Polsinelli and Shumaker, Loop & Kendrick, LLP, will feature high-end-tequila tastings, Mexican beer and wine, margaritas, sangrias, and light Mexican snacks. The cost to attend is $100 per person; sponsorships are $3,000. Contact ABI Sales Manager Sharisa L. Sloan if you would like to sponsor this event. All proceeds benefit the ABI Endowment Fund.
Tequila Toast
Terranea Sunset


The Endowment will be holding a silent auction at the Winter Leadership Conference, sponsored by Reid Collins & Tsai LLP. If you have something you would like to donate, please contact ABI Sales Manager Sharisa L. Sloan at Don’t know what to donate? Possible items have been selected and are available for purchase at under a special ABI Wish List. Contributing to the silent auctions, either through a donation or a generous bid, is a great way to support the ABI Endowment.

WLC21 graphic

Consider the ABI Endowment Fund in Your Year‑End Giving

Please consider supporting the ABI Endowment in your year-end donations. Created in 1989 to provide resources for research and education, it has funded important recent projects such the Commission to Study the Reform of Chapter 11, the Veteran’s Task Force, the Commission on Consumer Bankruptcy and more. Thanks in advance for your support.

Levels of Support

Millennium Level
Contributions of $50,000 and above

30th Anniversary Circle
Contributions of $30,000 – $49,999

Century Council Member 
Contributions of $25,000 – $29,999

Contributions of $20,000 – $24,999

Contributions of $15,000 – $19,999

Lifetime Member
Contributions of $10,000 – $14,999

Contributions of $5,000 – $9,999

Sustaining Member
Contributions of $2,000 – $4,999

Leadership Club
Contributions of $1,000 – $1,999

Contributions of $100 – $999

Pledges at the Leadership Club level and up are payable over up to five years.

Click to Donate Now

Endowment Fund Development Committee

Vice President—Development:
Christopher A. Ward

Committee Members:
Steven M. Berman
Shumaker, Loop & Kendrick, LLP

Dawn M. Cica
Carlyon Cica Chtd.

Eric J. Fromme
Theodora Oringher, PC

Bradley D. Sharp
Development Specialists, Inc.

Donald A. Workman

Endowment Fund

Regional Endowment Chairs


Chair: Donald A. Workman – BakerHostetler
Charles Forman – Forman Holt
Neil B. Glassman – Bayard, P.A.
Thomas M. Horan – Cozen O’Connor
Warren Martin – Porzio, Bromberg & Newman, PC
Richard M. Meth
James E. Van Horn – Barnes & Thornburg LLP

Chair: Lisa Vandesteeg – Levenfeld Pearlstein, LLC
Daniel A. DeMarco – Hahn Loeser & Parks LLP
Richard S. Lauter – Lewis Brisbois Bisgaard & Smith LLP
James A. Lodoen – Lindquist & Vennum LLP
Claire Ann Richman – Steinhilber Swanson LLP
Sheryl L. Toby – Dykema Gossett PLLC

New England
Chair: Jeffrey T. Varsalone – G2 Capital Advisors, LLC

New York Metro
Chair: Elyssa S. Kates – BakerHostetler

Rocky Mountain
Co-Chair: Annette W. Jarvis – Greenberg Traurig, LLP
Co-Chair: Lynne Long – Conway MacKenzie

Chair: Kristina M. Johnson – Jones Walker LLP
Rudy J. Cerone – McGlinchey Stafford, PLLC
Craig M. Geno – Craig M. Geno, PLLC
James R. Irving – Dentons Bingham Greenebaum
Derek F. Meek – Burr & Forman LLP
James E. Smith – Barber Law Firm
Emily Campbell Taube – Burr & Forman LLP


Chair: Jerry Markowitz – Markowitz, Ringel, Trusty + Hartog, P.A.
Terri L. Gardner – Nelson Mullins Riley & Scarborough, LLP
Neil C. Gordon – Arnall Golden Gregory LLP
Jennifer McLemore – Williams Mullen
Jennifer M. Meyerowitz – Stretto
Edward J. Peterson, III – Stichter, Riedel, Blain & Postler, PA
Lynn Lewis Tavenner – Tavenner & Beran, PLC
Glenn Thompson – Hamilton Stephens Steele & Martin, PLLC

Texas & Southwest
Co-Chair: Jason S. Brookner – Gray Reed & McGraw, PC
Co-Chair: Scott Van Meter – GlassRatner LLC
Jordan A. Kroop – Perkins Coie LLP
John Penn – Perkins Coie LLP
Thomas J. Salerno – Stinson LLP

Chair: Bradley D. Sharp – Development Specialists, Inc.
K. Kevin Otus – Onyx Asset Advisors, LLC
Randye B. Soref – Polsinelli

Facebook Twitter LinkedIn Flickr

© 2021 American Bankruptcy Institute
All Rights Reserved.
66 Canal Center Plaza, Suite 600
Alexandria, VA 22314

View Online   •   Manage Your Preferences